Home > Old website > Press
Six Foreign Scientists Elected to CAS

The Chinese Academy of Sciences (CAS) announced in Beijing Sunday that six eminent foreign scientists have been elected as academicians.

The six are: French chemist Jean-Marie Lehn, American mathematician Yum-Tong Siu, French medical scientist Guy de Thé, American neurophysiologist Torsten Wiesel, American computing scientist Andrew Chi-Chih Yao and American chemist Richard Zare. Both Lehn and Wiesel are Nobel laureates.

The CAS has a total of 45 foreign academicians. CAS President Lu Yongxiang said that all of them are leaders both in their respective fields and in the world. "They are playing active roles in international academic exchange and cooperation between the CAS and the world," he said.

(Xinhua News Agency June 7, 2004)

Suggest to a Friend :